The 23-mile Colonial Parkway links Virginia’s Historic Triangle, made up of Jamestown, Williamsburg and Yorktown, with the York River to the north and the James River to the south. These three historical communities form the three points of the triangle and mark major events or milestones that led to the independence of the United States of America.

According to, in 1607, the first permanent English settlement in America was established and named Jamestown, in honor of England’s King James I. Later in 1699, the capital of the colony of Virginia was moved to Williamsburg. During this time in Williamsburg, the idea of a free nation began with leaders such as Thomas Jefferson and Patrick Henry. On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed and in 1781 at the Battle of Yorktown, the Continental Army defeated the British Redcoats, ending the rule of King George III over the colonies.

We are so fortunate to call this beautiful area home and invite you to explore our nation’s rich history and early beginnings with us, as well as fun attractions, such as Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. Start planning your visit today.